About the department

The department of special surgeries is new having been hived of the department of General surgery about one and a half years ago. It comprises of 4 sections which are headed by section heads.

  1. ENT head & Neck section
  2. Ophthalmology
  3. Anaethesia and Critical care
  4. Dentistry/ oral health

The chairman of the department is Dr Barack Ongulo.

Faculty members

There are 7 full time and 2 part-time faculty members

Full time faculty

  1. Dr Barack Ongulo
  2. Dr David Nguru
  3. Dr Joyce ongaya
  4. Dr Maria Muthoka
  5. Dr Timothy Gacani
  6. Dr. Morris Musyoki
  7. Dr. Lily Adhiambo Nyamai

Part time faculty

  1. Dr Emily Nyamu
  2. Dr Munira Mohamed


Currently we teach Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery students on their 4th-6th year of study. In future we shall be offering master of medicine in surgery in General surgery, otolaryngology, ophthalmology and fellowship program in ophthalmology.

External examiners

Dr John William Ayugi