The Department is among the new created departments in the School of Medicine, It was created from the mother department of General Surgery. The department was created in May, 2020.


To be a leading centre in the training of able and contentious surgeons.


To enhance high quality teaching in surgery backed by research, innovation and improvisation and offer the best orthopaedic services possible at all times.

The department will work with other surgical teaching centres and stake holders in order to achieve the highest standards possible


  1. Endeavour to train surgeons with excellent surgical skills founded on high ethical and moral standards
  2. Espouse a strong mentorship programme between the students and the lecturers
  3. Promote the culture of patient centred medical practice at all times
  4. To encourage diversification into subspecialty surgical training and practice

The Faculty has five members of Academic Staff:-

  • Johnson Murila- Chairman
  • Kinuthia Gichuhi
  • Moses Kimani
  • Edgar Amadi
  • Peris Waithiru